• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Flystrike Protection

missshell

Mama Doe
I've been thinking as its spring its time to be on guard against fly strike. I have used rearguard on old buns in the past, however my buns are young and fit so im wondering if its worth putting it on them as they keep themselves very clean.
What do you think?

Be interesting to see what people say as i have very little knowledge around this area and would be keen to hear any ideas.

:wave:as well as reargaurd i spray the hutch with water that has had citrunalla oil put in it, it donst harm buns so can be sprayed on bun too. just gives that extra protection. also have used the hutch disifectant that has lavendar in it flies hate lavender.

Even though I lost a bun to flystrike (binky free Nougat), she was an overweight bun, and had bottom problems.
I don't rearguard my buns, as I'm not overly keen on using chemicals on them. Instead, I regulate their diet carefully, and give them regular health checks. I clean litter trays, and also spray the citronella stuff around. I also hang flypaper around the runs.

I just gave the hutch and run a thorough spring clean as I realised that the warm damp weather had brought the flies out. :shock:

I don't rear guard, but I'm paranoid about flystrike since my neighbour's rabbit got it and he killed his rabbit with a rock because he didn't know about emergency vet hours. :cry::cry::cry:

I moved the run completely onto the patio so that wee and stuff can't soak into the soil, and then Jeyes'd the hell out of the patio and soil where there was poo and nasty flies were lurking.

I bum check every day and have litter trays and am getting vet bed so there should be nowhere for the little beggers to hide from me! :evil: