• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Shavings a no-no!!!

Kazzy

New Kit
:shock:I thought I was okay to use P@H woodshavings for my 2 mini lops - I had no idea it was unsafe (from reading other posts). I've been using this since October when I got my boys - I haven't caused them any harm have I?
So I should just stick with newspaper and covering it with hay? I'm relatively new to being a bunny mummy and there is so much conflicting advice on the Net, you never know right from wrong. Thank you for your help, Kaz x

Hi,:wave:

I posted the question regarding sawdust. I have always used sawdust for my bunnies and i thought this was right, after seeing alot of cages on here which dont have sawdust i questioned it. Only to find out it shouldnt be used.

I really freaked out when some said the bunnies lungs were full of sawdust.
I took the advice of gettin some "megazorb" also using hay and litter trays and newspaper!

sawdust is bad for a bunny's eyes and lungs, but woodshaving that are dust extracted aren't as bad. However they do smell nice for a reason, and that is why they're not recommended for bunnies. The nice pine smell is caused by phenols, which are chemicals that rabbit's liver has to break down when breathed in - as such they are slightly harmful if your rabbit has other stresses on its liver, such as anaesthetics, and periods of starvation during stasis. So there's no need to panic about phenols in wood shavings, but ideally the less stress on a rabbit's liver, the better as they are delicate animals :)

:wave::wave: don't panic!