• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Adding a third rabbit to a bonded pair

Squizz

Alpha Buck
Has anyone got any tips for this?

They have all met on neutral ground and it was OK. I made the mistake of thinkng they had all bonded (it's my first time doing this!!) and put them in our living room, where the pair (Arthur and Martha) live - this resulted on them both chasing the new bun (hamish) and biting him.

Currently, Arthur and Martha are roaming free and Hamish is in a playpen in the front room so they can get used to him. He is only a baby, and a he is a mini lop - so he's very tiny compared to them!

What I wasn't ready for is it really disturbed Arthur and Martha's relationship. They have been together since babies and love each other. Once Hamish was in the living room (in playpen) Arthur and Martha started fighting.

Things look calm now - but I should I pursue this or am I risking ruining Arthur and Martha's relationship forever???

any advice would be appreciated!!

well they are all still relatively unharmed - what happened about the bites - did they break the skin or was it just fur? I would imagine another meeting on neutral territory is the next step - but they need to be left in neutral area for about 3 days, supervised, whilst you make the living room (assuming that's where you want all 3 to live) seem 'new' - paint the walls, shampoo the carpets, throw out old rugs and bedding/toys that can't be cleaned, and rearrange their living accomodation to a different part of the room if possible - at least soak and scrub it out with vinegar to destroy scents.