• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rescue accounts - Advice please

Kay

Mama Doe
Question for Rescues please.

I do admin work at home in the evenings for my local dedicated Rabbit Rescue. I have just been re-vamping forms and factsheets to date but I am soon to take on the mammoth task of receipt sorting.

Apparently there are 2 years worth of receipts to sort :shock:

Anyway my question is how do you do your books? I have limited book keeping experience but I am not worried about the task. I just want to know from your experiences if there is a best way of logging them? I was going to sort them all into date order and list the expenditures in an Excel spreadsheet that way the data can be interrogated i.e a search on how much was spent on Hay etc.

Any advice would really really be appreciated. The lovely lady that runs the rescue is very good hands on with the buns but not much of an idea when it comes to scary paperwork :D

Last edited:
If you're using Excel you don't need to do the sorting beforehand.

Just make sure you list items in the columns you might want to sort on e.g. date, type of expenditure total with and without vat etc.

Then you can sort afterwards e.g. by date, type etc. and use subtotals etc.

I think you can also get free downloadable templates from the Microsoft site.

Good luck. :wave:

Crumbs of course thats a very good point. Gosh not thinking of that doesn't bode well does it :oops: :lol:

Thanks for the luck I might need it now! :lol:

I was thinking of handwriting them into a ledger at first :shock: :lol:

Gosh that's a task! I know exactly how you feel I do the accounts at work, and receipts are the bain of my life! :lol:

These are the column titles we use in our spread sheets: