• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Old English Rabbit

BunnieLuv

Young Bun
Hi all, just a quick question, i have been to look at a old english baby bun today and how cute they was, the lady told me that its mum is a old english and the dad is a dutch but its still classed as an old english because they have to be x bred to keep there markings and colours.... what i am wanting to know, is this true? This is just out of interest for me really as i wasn't aware this had to happen having never kept them before.

Thanks in advance to anyone that replys.

I am by no means an expert in rabbit breeds, but I have never heard of an "Old English" before :? I know of the English breed, which looks like this :

rabbit_english.jpg

I've never heard of an 'old' Englsih rabbit?

Theres an English 'spot' or an English Lop though.

Oooops i missed the spot off it... Yes thats what she said it was.........lol. But i dont know if x breeding is true to keep the colours and markings.

I know to get perfectly marked English spots you can't breed two enlglish spots, usually a charlie and a self get the best results as if you breed two englishes you usually end up with charlies and selfs, not more english spots. Bit complicated, I know.

However I don't think crossing an english with a dutch is a known way of getting english spots.:?

Do you want the rabbit for showing or breeding, or just as a pet?

I know to get perfectly marked English spots you can't breed two enlglish spots, usually a charlie and a self get the best results as if you breed two englishes you usually end up with charlies and selfs, not more english spots. Bit complicated, I know.

However I don't think crossing an english with a dutch is a known way of getting english spots.:?