• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

daily activities

ksiusha777

Young Bun
Hello everyone,
I have two rabbits that are just over 2 months. I am fostering them, but I think I will keep them. I am new to rabbits, but am enjoying them very much. I also have two guinea pigs. With my rabbits, I know they need to run around a lot. Each day I take them from the cage and they run in the play pen for around 3-5 hours each day. It's spacious with hay, water, pellets, some toys and an igloo house. In the evening/night I put them back in the cage with fresh pellets, water, and hay. They snuggle together in the corner. This is about the routine each day. I am concerned that it is slightly boring for them. What do you do with your rabbits to entertain them? What else can I do that they will enjoy? What other activities are fun for rabbits?

Also, they seem to have litter trained themselves. They only go in the bin with the hay which makes the clean up easier.

When I sit in the playpen, they climb up on me and investigate me. Does this mean they are getting to know me?

Thank you for the help,
Ksiusha

Rabbits like routine. It may seem boring to us but to them, it's just life. Sometimes, to add variety, I let my girls stay in their hutch so they can sunbathe which they love.

Good to know:)

For the pen I use cardboard as a bottom, is this okay? They chew on towels, I was worried it would make them sick if it causes blockage. They chew on the cardboard now and then.

So do you think each day, if they sit in the cage and sleep, then run in the pen for 4-5 hours then go back in the cage that this is a good routine for them?

That sounds like a good routine, as long as it fits with your life too.