• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Suitable flooring for rexes

IzzyTwig

Alpha Buck
I've noticed my two rexes are starting to lose the fur on their hocks. I've heard of people using rubber matts, where would you get them from, I'm thinking of somewhere online ideally.
I don't think it's the flooring in their cage that's the problem, it's the carpet in our lounge as it's very tough and doesn't have a deep pile. Replacing the carpet isn't an option though. Do you think profleece would work for when they're out and about? I've never used pro fleece before, only vet bed but that's too expensive for a large amount, is it just as good?

Any other ideas to help prevent them getting sore hocks?

I have two rexes, Audrey and Monty who are house buns. Audrey suffers with poorly hocks. She does have vet bed, but enjoys eating/weeing on it:roll:, so it is forever in the wash:oops:. I bought a load of cheap fleece blankets (Matalan/primark etc 1.99/3 each) and I put them down where they run, I secure it round the mats in the hallway and also upstairs where they flop. I think the key is to keep the hocks as dry as possible. I am paranoid and change their litter trays twice a day and use megazorb/soft straw then with hay on the top.

I'm sure that someone else will be along too to help out!

good luck - as they say prevention is better than cure!!
Andrea

My rex silky has a sisal natural rug over gym mats or towels over gym mats. The gym mats were dead cheap in tesco. Now she has a one level home her hocks are less sore. I also tend to keep elastoplast on her feet to allow the fur to grow under the plaster and protect her feet. works a treat as once the fur is lost it doesnt really grow back properly

mine are indoors in my spare room,they stay in their run while i'm out.