• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

More advice needed.

Wend

Young Bun
Hello again. I have been reading the forum but have not posted for a while.
Some of you may remember that I was given a 2-3 week old baby rabbit back in September. She was found in a lane in my village. I called her Shadow.

Some kind people here gave me some good advice as I have no experience with rabbits at all.

It was my intention to rehome her once I was sure she was fit and well. However because she has to stay indoors until Spring as she has been raised in a centrally heated house and I am very fussy about the sort of home I would want for her, no home has turned up.

I am now leaning towards keeping her. I never was a 'rabbit person' but Shadow has changed that!:lol:

So............ I need more advice to make sure she has the best of everything.

Firstly, even though she has been hand reared she is not very tame yet. She is very happy for me to stroke her in the cage but panics when picked up and also seems to hate floor time!:? When I get her out she just hides away and seems happy to be back in the cage again.
I have gone back to taking her out each night and just cuddling her and giving her lap time. She seems happy with this but I feel she needs to have floor time. What can I do to make it a happier experience for her?

I have been advised not to try and find a Husbun for her until she has been spayed which will be another 2 months yet. Why is that? If the male was neutered does she need to wait? Is the bonding more likely to work if she has been spayed? I know because of the risk of cancer she should be spayed but it would be nice for her to have a mate before this.

Sorry for the long post and the questions. I am a complete novice and I do want to get it right.