• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Shredding Paper why?

kath w

Warren Scout
Can anyone suggest a reason why Charly has started to shred paper. He has plenty of toys and is pampered a lot but every time we put in new paper he just shreds it up. We dont think he is eating it. Any ideas?

I am not an expert but I would have to say that my diagnosis is - Congratutlations, you have a rabbit!

:lol: :lol: Totally agree, all my bunnies go through fazes of shredding paper ! At the moment its Jack and Dempsey :shock: Right pain to clean it up too :lol: :lol:

Guinness shreds his paper non stop since we got him, sometimes i wonder why i even bother putting paper or toys in his hutch! But at least he seems to enjoy it and it distracts him from my carpet!

all of mine love shredded paper!, i mix it up with shredded "cloth" from pet shop and hay!.

They all dive under it and its really funny to see the paper and hay moving about:lol: :lol:

My old work place donates all there bags of shredded paper to me and I use that in the cage instead of sawdust. The bunnies LOVE it and it stops them digging up the paper underneath cos there so busy with the shredded stuff on top (mine particulary like making tunnels and running through them :lol: ) I always put some straw at one side for them to snuggle in and the rest is all shredded paper in my cage -
I did find that once i started using shredded paper in the cage instead of sawdust they stopped shredding the newspaper and its ALOT quicker and cleaner when cleaning the buns out. It stops the sawdust being kicked all over aswell :lol:

When Kira started feeling better after her spay I heard her shredding paper.