• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Hay

XMissySJx

Wise Old Thumper
ok so im no newbie, but yeh im asking about hay!

We buy HUGE bales from local farm at £3 each, given 2 big sharings a da, morning and night to two pairs, it lasts 6 weeks. BARGAIN!

Its nice, long, yellowish/green hay. meadow hay im assuming.

however after seeing sillyrabbits scarlett eating such LOVELY green hay lol, i jus want to ask..

should i buy some different hay for the hayracks like timothy...and then still put the meadow in their hutch as extra..or just stick to meadow?

reason im asking is, i know normally people say 'oh hay experts do really good hays' etc and yes it seems like they do...but when i pay £3 every six weeks...compared to the price on H.E...is it worth it??

if yes, what hay shud i get, theres 2 many diff types

:wave: Hey hun

If they are eating the meadow hay you are getting then I wouldnt bother :lol: Mine have stopped eating cheap hay now and its a right pain because its not just the hay being more expensive its postage too sometimes :shock: :lol: Pampered Piggies didnt even charge me postage last time I ordered hay because they thought it would be too much :shock:

What I used to do for Trip when he was on his own was get just one bag of timothy hay and mix it all up with a huge bag of meadow hay :D

i just figred if its doing them the same good as expensive hay should i jus stick to what i give them, and then maybe buy little bags now and again as a treat?

cus £3 every six weeks is soo cheap

Yes, I'd say if they are eating stacks of the cheaper stuff, why mess with success? If you introduce the posh stuff (as I did), you may well find they go off the cheaper stuff! :shock: :roll: