• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

New to owning rabbits, advice and tips welcomed!

callan

New Kit
Hello my name is callan and tonight I bought my new bunny "Starbuck".
I have a small hutch outside my bedroom window with an area for her to hide in and i have lined the floor with hay, the bottom of the hutch slides out so it is easier to clean.

And I have a small wooden box in my room for her to sleep in on cold nights.

I am going to be building a light framed run to place on the grass outside probably 5x5 meters, im going to make it big enough to place her hutch in and make a ramp so she can go in and out herself.

I am new to owning rabbits and would like any tips or advice you can give me.
let me know if there's anything that i should include in the run.

5x5 metres sounds great. Rabbits do need plenty of space. The minimum hutch recommendations are 5ft by 2ft. You need to make the run fox proof as well.

Bunnies love toys as well, have a look around in pet stores or online. Mine love stripping the bark off off apple tree branches, and they have a few jiggly plastic toys to throw around.

Hi :wave:

Don't bring her inside at night as it will be too warm for her if she's used to living outside, just put extra bedding in her hutch for her to snuggle in!

Run size sounds great, mine like things they can hop on and under, fave thing at the moment is a step from Wilkos bought for £3, also things like willow balls they can destroy!!! :lol:

Hi! Welcome to the wonderful world of rabbit ownership!

Best advice I can give is to get her her spayed and then she can have a neutered boyfriend from a rescue centre.