• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Rehoming over Christmas

Sooz

Wise Old Thumper
Do other rescues have a block of time where they stop rehoming over the Christmas/New Years period?

I know of some over larger rescues that have a christmas rehoming break but not any rabbit rescues.

Its my first year of running the rescue and I havn't yet decided on our Christmas policy so would be interested in others views.

Obviously not a rescue, but I would have thought you would be able to tell the people who arent so serious when you meet them and homecheck? Not sure though.

Also some people might find it easier to adopt around holidays just because they have time off work and will be home during the day for a homecheck and to be with the bunny while it settles in :D I had trouble just arranging a time for homechecking when I was adopting Beau because they couldnt do weekends or after 5. I pretty much had to beg them to come there and then :lol:

We don't home over the Christmas period..I would say from at least the 18th December to the 3rd Jan would be a good time to not let animals go..
people tend to have too much on and houses are more chaotic during that time

Thanks Jill.

It was more the Christmas upheaval I was worried about than the 'present' aspect....its stressful going to a new home at the best of times without noise, decorations, excitement, lots of people coming and going etc.

I was hoping Muffin might have a new wife before xmas as he is definitely lonely on his own, but no one seems to be able to help at the moment with a lady bun for him :(