• Forum/Server Upgrade If you are reading this you have made it to the upgraded forum. Posts made on the old forum after 26th October 2023 have not been transfered. Everything else should be here. If you find any issues please let us know.

Advice needed

Lib_n_bunny

Wise Old Thumper
:wave: Hiya, newbie here!!

Just wanted a bit of advice really. I've seen a rabbit at an RSPCA centre, he's 2 years old. I'm looking for a house bunny, which he hasn't been previously; will it be possible to litter train him at this age?
Also, I want a bun that likes lots of fuss and cuddles, he was a bit too nervous for me to hold him, but the rescue man cuddled him while I was there and he seemed fine, and he looked contented when I stroked him down his back and behind his ears, he spread his back legs out and half closed his eyes.
Finally, he came into the rescue home with 4 others, and was a right sod to start with, cos he was very protective of the others. The centre therefore feel he won't bond with another bun. I've read that some bun's just never bond. Is this likely to be the case?

Ta muchly! :D

xx Libby

:wave: Sounds like you want a cat really :lol: But seriously - you don't get cuddly bunnies very often - they don't tend to like being picked up although they are usually very happy to sit next to you on the settee and be stroked. An unneutered male won't be housetrainable I shouldn't think - is he neutered? Neutering will also affect how he behaves around other bunnies, so maybe this was his problem before? :)

Alfred was approx 18months old when he came from the RSPCA, and he litter trained very easily. He also adapted very well to being a house rabbit.

He isn't a fan of being picked up and cuddled, but will happily jump up next to me on the sofa and demand fuss / stroking.

Ax